Beauty and the Beast

When I first saw the poster for this I was like…

Image result for beauty and the beast cartoon

Image result for beauty and the beast cartoon

What’s with the dancing dinnerware?!?!?

Then I watched it.

Sniff…snorkel…

And I bought (mumble mumble) toys  collectibles…

The Beast was one of the most well designed Disney characters ever.

Of course some of you may remember this version…

Image result for beauty and the beast tv show

 

Or these…

 

https://www.buzzfeed.com/rachelwmiller/heres-how-people-imagined-beauty-and-the-beast-pr?utm_term=.kcJrxwz9B#.pnGrJ6bnW

Now there’s this…

 

 

Image result for beauty and the beast disney 2017

Well now…

so far Disney has been doing live action versions of its cartoons to good effect… Cinderella, Jungle Book, Maleficent…

Now this…

O

 

M

 

G

 

I got there late enough to have the choice of the hideous seats in the middle where the &*!&^%$*&^% floor lights beam in your face like aircraft landing lights (come here you moron designers, I have a Mjolnir to smite you with)… or one on the end of my favorite b row …let me repeat that…

END

Let me tell you how much I hate end seats. Also I discovered that there are evil lights on the SIDES of the theater that glower in my face on that end seat…

So there I am, huddled in my parka, hood over half my face, rest making a kind of tent to shield me from the Evil Lights of Doom, while the nice lady next to me probably wondered if it was safe to sit there with the weird person…

Despite the agonies of late arrival and awful seating, it was a darn awesome film.

Hermione as Belle… nuff said…

It took me till the end credits to recognize Ian McKellan (Gandalf, Magneto)(old Sherlock) as Cogsworth. He’s that awesome.

Luke Evans (Bard in the Hobbit) was a fabulous Gaston. He even looks like the cartoon version.

Apparently our Beast has recently been a resident of Downton Abbey… so there’s some fabulous acting DNA. He also bears a remarkable resemblance to the original cartoon version. The prince I mean.

There are, no doubt a gazillion reviews of this film. I’ll let you find them.

Meanwhile, I think I have to go back and see this again, with better seating.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

