swordwhale bakes (we’re doooomed)

While recovering from a ripping good cold and some “pirate eye” (yesterday I was one-eyed all day due to some virulent pinkeye, drugs drugs are good, getting better now…) I noticed my mulberry tree was dripping with fruit…

and since the $*%^^%@#!! rabbits (hawks not doing their job, fox urine in a box not doing its job, real foxes not doing their jobs) ate my ONE SINGLE STRAWBERRY in my strawberry pot (also several small oak trees), I felt the need to gather some berries… now what to do with them.

 

IF YOU’RE PICKING WILD THINGS, BE SURE TO CLEARLY IDENTIFY THEM FIRST!!!

 

I really don’t cook.

Sooooooo, I grab a Bis QUICK recipe, and dump in the mulberries. I also don’t have a muffin pan so I used a glass baking dish and doubled the recipe (I have lots of mulberries). I left out the sugar, that can be added later as honey or maple syrup (I don’t keep sugar either). I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and lined the glass pan with it too. I also used Silk’s almond/coconut milk. Recipe looks simple. Let’s see how my modification turned out…

finished mulberry “muffin” (I have no muffin pan, except the ones used as art palettes)

 

baby Groot helps…

 

the mulberry tree

 

not quite ripe: they go from green to whitish to reddish to dark purple

 

ripe

 

leaves and manner of growth

 

some leaves are lobed (they are related to sassafras)

 

Here’s a simple Bisquick recipe:

http://www.food.com/recipe/bisquick-blueberry-muffins-117370?ftab=reviews#activity-feed

just substitute mulberries for blueberries

 

Here’s a fancy schmancy complicated one…

http://www.glueandglitter.com/2010/06/01/here-we-go-round-the-mulberry-bush/

 

Here’s all abut the tree:

http://www.mofga.org/Publications/MaineOrganicFarmerGardener/Summer2003/Mulberries/tabid/1487/Default.aspx

 

in PA we have native red mulberries:

http://www.cookforest.com/articles/trees/red-mulberry.cfm

 

Several cultivars (white and black) have been introduced as well.

My tree is not black mulberry because it does not have hairy leaf undersides.

The surface of the leaf is very shiny.

The red mulberry is … (leaves) “often with 2-3 lobes, particularly on young trees, and with a finely serrated margin.[3] The upper surface of the leaves is noticeably rough, similar in texture to fine sandpaper, and unlike the lustrous upper surface of the leaves of white mulberry (M. alba).[7] The underside of the leaves is covered with soft hairs.”

Mine may be a hybrid, the leaves are like a white mulberry, but the fruit is dark and slightly sweet. The birds planted it and others.

Mulberry has alternate leaves, some lobed and some “leaf shaped” (sassafras does this too).

This blogger gives the hybrid a bit of praise…

http://www.arthurleej.com/a-mulberry.html

Leave a Reply

